Chocolate? Meet Balsamic – LA

Posted on February 19, 2013

1


IMG_0810
We recently learned that a wonderful blog, Foods for the Soul, was inspired by us.  Little old Bakers, Bicoastal.  We were so touched that we wanted to write a post in her honor featuring a lovely combination–chocolate and balsamic vinegar.  Check out her Salted Balsamic Chocolate Cookies.  Fabulous, right?

In the same vein, I want to pay it forward by recognizing blogs that continue to inspire me.  I want to give a formal shout-out to regulars on this blog: Heidi Swanson and David Lebovitz.  (Read: I often cite their recipes as the muse or basis of my post.  Case-in-point.)

I have also recently fallen in love with the photos and recipes from Desserts for Breakfast.   Makes me want to move back to the Bay area.

IMG_0805Lastly, I have some super talented friends with their own blogs: Balanced-Beingsrosenbklyn, Tara Stiles and Two Sisters, Two Suppers.

And just for fun, here are additional sites that tickle my fancy on a weekly basis: Shelter Co., Modern Hiker and Petit Cabinet de Curiosites.

Who on the world wide web inspires you?  I expect a full report by the end of the week.

Dark Chocolate Sorbet with Berry Balsamic Sauce

Adapted from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz and My Baking Addiction.

You can find the recipes here:

Some notes:

  • This can be made using vegan chocolate.  Double yum.
  • Sorry for the worse than usual photos.  I added homemade creme fraiche and black lava salt to my sundae.  On other nights, I’ve added dried cherries and almonds to give it that Cadbury Fruit and Nut bar taste.
  • I love Claudio’s Balsamic Vinegar which you can find online or in the Philadelphia Italian Market.
  • I subbed strawberries for blackberries in the recipe, but feel free to go to town.
  • I just used the remaining sorbet in a relatively healthy shake–chocolate sorbet, coconut milk, almond butter and banana.  It’s the banana split that won’t split your pants.  HA!  I crack myself up.  Okay, that was pretty lame, but you get the point.
