Caramel – NYC

Posted on January 31, 2012

1


The first lesson I’ve learned in this year of two thousand twelve is that you don’t realize what you need until you need it.

A few weeks ago, my grandfather passed away. I spent most of my emotional energy supporting my dad and those family members who I knew would be hurting deeper than me, so much so that I didn’t realize how much I was hurting myself and how much I also needed emotional support.

As with most things in life, it was the little moments throughout the process that effected me the most and that magnified my needs and pain: an unprompted text from one of my best friends and her fiance that they would be coming to the ceremony, the comforting and out-of-place faces of my mom’s family at my dad’s family’s event,  thoughtful cards of support from loving friends to both myself and my family, the embrace of my cousin and best friend who I had planned to visit under happier circumstances that same weekend, a strong and simple shoulder to cry on from my “little” brother (a shoulder that’s now much taller and stronger than my own), a comforting call from Colorado that left me a a weepy mess, and flowers sent to the church and placed next to my grandpa’s picture that were from a dear colleague and company I just started working for. Some supportive moments were expected, some completely unexpected, but all so touching and needed in a time when I thought I was the last person who would need.

My grandpa’s greatest life triumph was that he was blessed to have a large and loving family, people that would support him throughout life’s toughest moments. How truly blessed am I to have been given that gift in his passing, and to honor his life in that parallel.

Thank yous mean so little when you’re comforted so dearly, and for one of the many who supported me, I got to give back with a gift of baked goods for her and her boyfriend.

This recipe was turned into salted caramel popcorn cookies for the two of them, but it will forever be a known as a small token of appreciation.

Simple and Sincere Salted Caramel Spread (adapted from Design Sponge)

Ingredients:

  • 300 g (1.5 cups) granulated sugar
  • 50 g (3 ish tbsp) water
  • 240 g (2 sticks and a tbsp) butter
  • 20 g (1. 5 tbsp) kosher salt
  • 200 g (6.7 oz) heavy cream

Directions:

  1. Place sugar and water in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Do not mix and cook until it cooks down to an amber syrup.
  2. Add butter little by little and stir constantly with a wooden spoon until all the pieces are dissolved.
  3. Add the salt and cook down an additional 2-5 minutes.
  4. Remove the molten sugar from the heat and temper the cream adding SLOWLY as to not curdle.
  5. Cool completely, and liberally EVERYWHERE!!

This recipe begs to be loved, and I hope you can share it in thankfulness as I’ve gotten to.

Tagged: ,