Banana – SF

Posted on September 29, 2011

4


We are in serious packing mode over here in SF.  I guess it’s time to tell you that the Haley household is moving.

Again.

I’m a chronic mover.  I recently visited the Eugene O’Neill National Historic Site where I learned that the playwright moved 35 times in his life, lived for the longest stretch in NorCal and died in Shelton Hall (Boston University, who knew?!).

So, people of greatness must move a lot, right?  (I’m repeating this over and over in my head right now as I wrap up my vintage sundae glasses in yellowed NY Times pages.)

Or do we really enjoy self flagellation in the form of packing and unpacking boxes?

Okay, I don’t love moving, but I do enjoy a fresh start and the excitement of a new city.  And I don’t consider myself of any greatness (unless you count packing as a skill), but I do think these two recipes are pretty darn good: banana gingerbread muffins and vegan banana coconut ice cream.

And, if anyone is keeping count, this is my twelfth move.  I’ve got a lot of catching up to beat Eugene.

Banana Gingerbread Muffins

Slightly resembles my other favorite gingerbread recipe.  Makes about 24 muffins.

  • About ½ heaping cup of fresh grated ginger
  • 1/2 cup blackstrap molasses
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 bananas mushed
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2-1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 2 eggs

1. Preheat the oven to 350.

2. Prepare your muffin tin with foil/paper cups.

3. In a bowl, whisk the flour, cinnamon, cloves, and pepper.

4. In a separate mixing bowl, combine the molasses, sugar, oil and bananas.

5. Boil the water in a saucepan and add the baking soda.  Add the water mixture to the molasses and combine.  Add the chopped ginger to the banana mixture.

6. Add the dry ingredients to the banana mixture gradually, whisking to combine. Add the eggs and mix until well combined.

7. Pour the batter into the muffin cups and bake for about 25 minutes or until a toothpick in the center comes clean. Allow the muffins to cool on rack.  A great breakfast treat with some lemon curd or butter.

Vegan Banana Coconut Ice Cream with Cocoa Nibs

Makes about 1 quart.

  • 3-4 small very ripe bananas, sliced
  • 1 can of light coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons of cointreau or other orange liquor
  • 1/2 cup of cocoa nibs (or crushed chocolate chips if we’re going non-vegan)

1. Puree the bananas in a food processor until almost smooth.

2. Add coconut milk and cointreau and and continue to blend until incorporated.

3. Pour mixture into a bowl and place in the fridge until completely chilled.

4. Pour into your ice cream machine and follow your machine’s instructions.  Fold in cocoa nibs or chocolate chips as ice cream is hardening.

