Mango – SF

Posted on June 8, 2011

0


This photo looks awfully familiar.  I obviously have a thing for rice and pudding and coconut milk.

Wait.  Don’t touch that dial.

Because you won’t want to miss my delicious Thai sticky rice. With squishy-ripe, piney-smelling mangoes.

Time to bust out that rice cooker, which I have used exactly once.  And you’re looking at the results.

I know, you’re probably asking yourself: how is that possible?

I have an odd relationship with my rice cooker.

I take that back.

I have no relationship with my rice cooker.

In our household, using the rice cooker falls into the domain of man-jobs—doing dishes, killing bugs, grilling, and building a fire.  It doesn’t take a lot of skill to use one-button cooker.  But, it does take some finesse to guesstimating the precise ratio of water to rice, a technique that Nate has mastered.

So, when it came to this week’s challenge—mangoes, I couldn’t wait to try my hand at Thai sticky rice, a classic restaurant dessert.

Imagine a rice pudding.  Now imagine a dessert that has an awesome sticky-chewy texture that’s more rice than pudding.  Juicy, ripe mangoes compliment the rich coconut flavor.  Do not skimp and use light coconut milk.  Get the real stuff and you won’t be disappointed.

Rice cooker, 0.  Haley, 1.  Maybe I’ll conquer grilling next.  Or not.

Coconut Thai Sticky Rice with Mangoes

Adapted from Epicurious.  Serves 4-6.

  • 1 ½ cups of sticky rice (ask for it at your local grocer or Asian supermarket)
  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • ¼ cup of brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla or vanilla bean paste
  • 2 ripe mangoes, sliced into long pieces
  • Optional: Cinnamon or cardamom, and basil leaves to garnish

1. Rinse rice in a fine strainer until the water runs clear.

2. According to your rice cooker’s instructions, add rice and appropriate amount of water.  For me, it was 1 ½ cups of rice and 3 cups of water.  Hit the cook button, and let the magic happen.

3. While the rice is cooking, slice up your mango and set aside.

4. In a small saucepan, warm up coconut milk, brown sugar, salt and vanilla until hot but not boiling and the sugar has dissolved.  Set aside.

5. When the rice is done cooking, let it sit on the “warm” setting for about 20 minutes.  Then open the container and fluff accordingly.

6. Gently fold in coconut milk mixture.  I did it right in the rice cooker to keep it warm.  Scoop rice into bowls and serve with slice mangoes on top.  Garnish with spices and basil leaves as desired.

