Indulgence – SF

Posted on March 23, 2011

10


Indulgence means different things to different people.  It could be sneaking a treat out of the cookie jar.  Or it could be eating everything out of the cookie jar.

I’m more of a no crumb left behind gal myself.  If I’m going to indulge, I’m going to make it memorable.

I must have brownies on the brain.  I thought nothing could top the sinfulness of the Oreo-Stuffed Brownies I made a couple of weeks ago.

But then I opened my cupboard and found my old friends Jiffy and Nutella.  A brownie was born that only a cookie monster could love.  Indulgent, addictive, gooey, rich—go make these brownies.  I promise, no crumb will be left behind.

 

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Topped Nutella Brownies

Slightly adapted from My Kitchen Addiction.  Makes about 10-12 brownies.  PRINT full size recipe.

For the brownie layer:

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup Nutella
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract or vanilla bean paste
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
  • Pinch of sea salt

For the cookie dough layer:

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • Pinch of sea salt

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.

2. Lightly grease an 8×8-baking dish.

3. Start by mixing up the brownies. Cream together the butter and sugar in a small mixing bowl. Add the Nutella, egg, and vanilla and beat until smooth.

4. Add the flour, cocoa powder and a pinch of sea salt, and beat until the flour is incorporated.

5. Spread the brownie batter in the bottom of the prepared pan.

6. For the peanut butter cookie dough layer, combine the peanut butter, sugar, and egg in a mixing bowl, beating until smooth. Stir in the flour, salt and the chocolate chips.

7. The dough will be a bit crumbly, so you can crumble it evenly with your fingers over the top of the brownies.

8. Bake for about 30 minutes.  The brownies should look firm on top, but be gooey in the center.  Let it cool for 20-30 minutes and then place in fridge for about 30 minutes (makes it easier to cut).

9. Store in fridge or at room temperature.  Warm up in the microwave for ultimate gooeyness.

