Snack – SF

Posted on January 31, 2011

4


I used to think kale was iguana food and not people food. My earliest experience with kale was watching Ivana the iguana chew kale leaves languorously under the heat lamp.  There is a lot of good reasons iguanas like kale—vitamins, fiber, crunchy texture.

But I didn’t fully appreciate its versatility until a few years ago.  I’ve made kale pesto, thrown it into many a stew, tossed it with pasta and goat cheese, and even dressed up a little raw kale salad with butternut squash and pomegranate seeds.

When I saw Tyler Florence’s recipe for roasted kale chips, I was skeptical.  Instead of crispy salty chips, I envisioned a soggy mess of wilted leaves.  I was very wrong.

This recipe is amazingly easy and satisfying for those craving potato chips, but not wanting the excess fat or starch.  For extra irresistibility, add fresh herbs, grated lemon zest or Tyler recommends truffle salt.  I like a healthy dose grated pecorino, fresh cracked pepper and pink Himalayan salt.

Roasted Kale Chips

From Tyler Florence’s Family Kitchen

  • 1 bunch of kale (de-stemmed, torn into pieces, washed and thoroughly dried)
  • Good olive oil
  • Good salt
  • Seasonings (herbs, cheese, spices to taste)

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

2. Line rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.

3. Spread kale leaves on to baking sheet and drizzle or brush leaves lightly with olive oil.

4. Add salt and spices.  Bake for 25-35 minutes depending on the size of the leaves.  Kale will be airy and crisp with a slight green-golden tinge.

5. Toss with grated cheese, fresh herbs and other accompaniments.

