Indian – NYC

Posted on January 11, 2011

2


Twenty-ten brought me a half-marathon, various trips to and a newfound love for Nashville, loads of US travel  from Chicago to Lancaster, PA to Block Island to Maine to middle o’ Tennessee (Bonnarooooo), the wedding of my cousin/one of my best friends/sister in NYC, the wedding of one of my oldest, closest friends at my hometown at the Jerseyshore and celebration with my Qs, some wonderful new friendships (Haley topping that list) – oh, and just the minor life change of, after at least 6 years of living either without walls, in a dorm, or in the corner of someone’s 6’x6′ room, moving in with B and FINALLY having a home.

If I am anywhere CLOSE to as blessed as I was in 2010 in 2011, I’ll  do a o k this year. And with two of my best friends weddings, my brother’s graduation from highschool, my daddy’s 60th bday, and an imminent trip to France late in the year with B in the works, I’m fairly certain, great or just ok, it’s going to be a whirlwind.

To start off this year, Haley and I decided to err on the side of the exotic – a delicious baked good that was other worldly. I had quite a few ideas/recipes from blogs that I’d been holding onto for such an occasion.

Part of me wishes I’d had chosen one of the other recipes, as this one didn’t come out as scrumptious as I would have hoped. But perhaps, the fact that this dessert only begged me to consume one and not the 17 I normally would be so inclined to stuff my face with, for the beginning of a new year and after weeks of holiday gluttony, PERHAPS it was in fact a success?

Indian Edible Brick Clay aka Chocolate Almond Burfi (Adapted from Dessarts)

Ingredients:

15 oz ricotta cheese

3Tbs butter

2 cups dry milk powder (FINALLY a use for my extra large box of dry milk powder I break into once a year)

3 Tbs sugar

3/4cup of unsweetened cocoa

1tsp ground cardamom

1/2 cup almond flour

1 cup AP flour

1/4 cup sugar

for decoration:
marzipan
whole almonds

1 – Cook the ricotta cheese for about 10 minute in a nonstick  pan. Stir constantly over a medium to low flame until there are no longer any lumps

2 – Add the butter, 3Tbs sugar, and the dry milk powder. Keep on stirring constantly, about 7 more minutes on medium heat.  Keep stirring to even out the consistency. There should be no clumps of milk powder.

3 – Add the cocoa powder and stir until combined over low heat.

4 – Transfer the hot mixture to an electric mixer bowl with a whisk attachment and mix on medium speed to even out the consistency, 2 – 3 minutes.

5 – Add in the almond flour, cardamom and add the 1/4 cup sugar until combined.

6 – Transfer the mixture to a large cutting board covered with parchment paper. Roll out the mound to a 1/2 thickness in a square shape,  then proceed to cut smaller squares.

7 – Cut circles out of marzipan using the top of a cognac bottle, take swig if desired (for the 21 plus of you), and assemble by placing a circle on top of each square, followed by a whole almond.

(Where is L.Glavin when you need her for a good picture!!?? ;))

Results?

Well, they were DENSE. Lightly sweet/chocolate-y with a nice hit from the cardamom. But DENSE. Brick-like. Don’t think I’ll ever make them again (or purchase them if I ever find myself wandering around the streets of India hungry for a traditional confection), but it was an interesting first baking adventure for 2011. If you do go for this, I’d add only 1/4 cup of flour and put them in ramekins like puddin’. Mmmmmm Indian Chocolate almond gooooo.

It’s going to be a good year – I can feel it.

Posted in: Uncategorized