Oats – NYC

Posted on December 20, 2010

1


Christmastime is my ABSOLUTE most favorite time of year – absolute. Nothing tops it for me.  The easiest way for me to explain my child-like, wide-eyed warmth and glee that defines this season is by my favorite movie of all time – The Muppet Christmas Carol. (Yes – The Muppet Christmas Carol. It is my heart and do not judge me).

That being said, as B and I didn’t have a housewarming party this year, we (I) decided that we should have a Christmas cocktail party. Perfect time for it really :). Which begs the question…

WHAT IN THE HECK AM I GOING TO BAKE?

And as I having to be the baking counterpart to B’s delicious homemade apps (chicken satays with peanut sauce, lamb meatballs…) I have standards to uphold.

So I decided, in honor of Miss Price not being able to attend, I would bring a little bit of her world to the party (I sound like Alton Brown). So it’s like she’s there. But she’s not. But, in, like, food form. Sort of. But not really.

 

SANFRAN FIG AND ALMOND OAT BARS (adapted from Veggie Wedgie)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 150gr almonds
  • 3 tbsp superfine sugar
  • 6 tbsp heavy cream
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 5 tbsp quick cooking oats
  • 8 dried figs
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • honey for drizzlin’

1 – Blend almonds in a high speed blender with the sugar, cream, and vanilla. Blend for a few minutes until it becomes a smooth thick cream.

2 – Transfer in a bowl and add 4 tbsp of the oats. Stir to incorporate.

3 – On a small ovenproof dish, sprinkle the rest of the oats. Pour oven the cream and even it out with a spoon.

4 – Slice the figs and arrange them on top of the almond cream.

5 – Sprinkle the cinnamon and drizzle with honey.

THOUGHTS?

They were very marzipan-y – which is a good great thing. And there were none left at the party. So I guess that means they were good? I got the blessing on them from Kelsey, so I think they were a o k.

Posted in: Uncategorized