Carrots – SF

Posted on October 11, 2010

0


Carrots are awesome.  I mean, they make you see better, you can eat them raw or cooked… they’re, um… orange.  Okay, I just don’t get that inspired by carrots.  They’re just a little boring in the glazed-carrots-in-the-Boston-Market-buffet kind of way.  I think carrots, and I think of schlacked or chicken stock.  See, even your eyes glazed over while reading this (note: eat more carrots for eye strength to get through Haley’s posts).

Carrots sit at the bottom of my crisper bin until they’re pretty sad, sometimes a little bendy and have developed some unwanted frost.

That is, until today.

Carrot PanCAKES

Easy-peasy recipe that I made for my friend E after our run in Golden Gate Park.

1 cup milk

1 cup pancake mix (I use Arrowhead Mills)

1 tbspn oil or butter (plus 1 tbspn of butter for cooking)

1 tspn vanilla

1 1/2 cups of grated carrots

1/2 tspn of cinnamon

1/2 tspn of nutmeg

1/2 tspn of cloves

Optional: bananas, raisins and walnuts

Serve with cinnamon-maple syrup or maple cream cheese

1. Grate carrots (or place in processor if you don’t have a proper grater)

2. Mix together all the ingredients (except for your cooking butter) in a bowl.  Try not to over mix.

3. Heat up nonstick pan over medium-low heat.  Place 1 tbspn of butter into the pan until just melted.

4. Pour pancake mixture into pan into the size pancakes you desire (I fit two medium size pancakes in each pan).  This is the opportunity to add fruit, raisins or walnuts if you want them.

5. Cook for 4-5 minutes on one side until golden brown and easy to flip over.  Flip the pancake over, and cook for another 4-5 minutes until the other side is also golden brown.  If your pancakes are really big, make sure they are cooked in the middle since the carrots make them dense.

6. Once done, remove from heat.  Serve with warm cinnamon-maple syrup (or Britt’s maple cream cheese!).

Note: I think you can replicate this recipe using your go-to pancake recipe. I’d follow your usual pancake recipe and add a proportionate amount of carrots and spices that I used here.

Results?  Delicious pancakes that weren’t overly sweet.  Would be great for a nice harvest themed brunch (or for us, a Monday night post-run dinner).  E said that she gained over 2 lbs while devouring the carrot pancakes.  I bet her a Beeramisu that there was no way she gained that much.  I was way off.  She gained 4 lbs (after copious amounts of water and hot chocolate–I think the bet was rigged).

PS: Carrot PanCAKES were inspired by Britt’s carrot waffles after a previous carrot disaster which will not be mentioned in this post.  Let’s just say I was making carrot-pumpkin bread and didn’t follow any instructions.  As we all know, baking is chemistry (which I didn’t really like in HS), and I ran out of baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon and decided to make up for it by adding extra pumpkin, carrots and chocolate chips.  Repeat at your own risk.

Posted in: breakfast, cooking