Cheese – NYC

Posted on October 5, 2010

0



So my WONDERFUL bicoastal counterpoint sent me a special housewarming gift that I wanted to use ASAP (especially since the man got me a ice cream maker for my birthday 4 months ago that I’ve only used once…)“The Perfect Scoop” by David Lebovitz. Amazing. Just amazing. I want to make every single icecream in this damn book. And I will. Eventually.

Of course I decide to make the most “out-there” ice cream that he has listed – “Roquefort Honey Ice Cream”. It is a cheese challenge. And Hales and me love us some cheese. This seemed like a marriage made in dessert heaven.

Roquefort-Honey Ice Cream

6 – 8 tablespoons of good honey (I used 7 of organic honey of some type)

4 ounces of blue cheese

1 cup whole milk

4 large egg yolks (the whites are still sitting in our fridge, btw)

1 cup heavy cream (go big or go home, right?)

  • Warm the honey in a small saucepan, then set aside. Crumble the cheese in a small bowl and set a mesh strainer over the top.
  • Warm the milk in a medium saucepan. In a separate medium bowl whisk the egg yolks. Slowly pour the warm milk into the egg yolks, then the egg yolks back into the saucepan.
  • Stir for an ungodly amount of time (15 minutes of solid stir-time) with a heat-proof spatula (…duh) until a custard forms and you can draw a line with your finger down your wooden appendage. Pour custard into the blue cheese bowl through the mesh strainer, melting the cheese (do this quickly. Not enough of my cheese melted which made for an interesting end product).
  • Stir in cream and honey and then cool in an ice bath (I put my ice bath in the freezer).
  • Freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions (and don’t half-ass it like me. Have some actual patience for the good delicious theeengs in life. If not you will get an awkward, sort of frozen cheese soup and the face that those that are consuming your concoction will make will be burned in your retinas for a good long time. Promise you that.)
  • Serve over some warm roasted pears (or following that whole “impatient” thing, raw pears).

It was pretty delicious. Mind you, half of it is still in our freezer and has been for the past few weeks. BUT thats because alittle goes a long way. Very cheese.

Challenge met. Your move, Miss Price.

Posted in: Uncategorized