Carrots – NYC

Posted on October 5, 2010

1


Went to the Union Square farmer’s market with my cousin Lauren last weekend – its not San Fran (:-P) but it’s something! It’s wonderful actually. Everytime I go it makes me want to move out of the city and live on a farm and grow things and be a farmer. But I’ll let the good farmers do what they do best and I’ll make something deliciously baked with them.

Really the only option you have for a dessert with carrot is carrot cake. I mean really. Don’t pretend you have other options because you really don’t. But I’ve had this recipe for Carrot Cake Waffles for a while now and have been dying to try it out. Perfect venue. Ok, here goes.

Carrot Cake Waffles (Thanks to Willow Bird Baking Blog!)

Waffle:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon allspice
1 3/4 cups buttermilk
2 eggs, separated
4 tablespoons (1/2 stick butter)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup raisins (I used golden ones)
1 1/2 cup finely grated carrots

YESSSSSSSSS. Mise en place? Check. I’m a baker!

Maple Cream Cheese
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
3-4 tablespoons maple syrup

  • Bloom the spices in butter**: Heat 4 tablespoons butter in skillet over medium heat until melted, 1 to 2 minutes. Continue to cook, swirling pan constantly, until butter is light brown and has faint nutty aroma, 2 to 4 minutes. Add spices and continue to cook, stirring constantly, 15 seconds. Remove from heat and cool to room temperature, about 30 minutes (Miss Impatient actually DID this and I think it added flavor. Yay for patience!)
  • Combine the flour, salt, sugar, baking soda.
  • Mix together the buttermilk and the egg yolks. Stir in the spiced butter and vanilla. Butter the waffle iron well and preheat it. Stir the wet into the dry ingredients.
  • Beat the egg whites in a separate bowl with a whisk or electric mixer (make sure bowl and mixer are spotlessly clean) until they hold soft peaks. Stir them gently into the batter. Add carrots, walnuts, and raisins. Stir gently to combine.
  • Spread a ladleful or so of batter onto the waffle iron and bake until the waffle is done, usually 3 to 5 minutes, depending on your iron. Spray iron with cooking spray between waffles as needed.
  • To make Maple Cream Cheese spread, simply combinesyrup, and cream cheese (I put in a plastic bag, cut a whole in the corner, and mixed everything together with my fingers). I dotted on my waffles in the crevaces. Yum.

Yum to the max. I ❤ waffles. Carrot Cake Waffles = success.

Posted in: Uncategorized